annettebamf:

Unfortunately, I am not an avid fan of Star Wars, I haven’t seen all the movies, and couldn’t care less that it’s being sold. What does interest me is how different the Disney version is going to be and if it’ll satisfy the die-hard fans. Lets face it, its true – the “new generation of filmmakers” would have attempted to recreate something anyway. This article was like the bate thrown from a fishing line, now Im gonna go read a bunch of people complaining about the situation and find the primary source to the quotes by George Lucas.

Originally posted on VentureBeat:

The Force is strong with Mickey Mouse, apparently. In a landmark media deal, Disney has agreed to pay $4.05 billion to buy Lucasfilm, the owner of the Star Wars properties.

Disney will also purchase LucasArts, the video game development arm of Lucasfilm.

“For the past 35 years, one of my greatest pleasures has been to see Star Wars passed from one generation to the next,” George Lucas, the chairman and CEO of Lucasfilm, said in a statement. “It’s now time for me to pass Star Wars on to a new generation of filmmakers. I’ve always believed that Star Wars could live beyond me, and I thought it was important to set up the transition during my lifetime. I’m confident that with Lucasfilm under the leadership of Kathleen Kennedy, and having a new home within the Disney organization, Star Wars will certainly live on and flourish for many generations to…

View original 329 more words

Leave a Reply

